Rooteins

Discovered another online ‘tool’ for forming my new life habits… or another distraction from getting down to real work. Will decide which it is at the end of June–after I meet my writing deadline one way or another!

I hope Rootein is the tool that will help me maintain focus for longer stretches. According to the website,

Rootein™ lets you define habits and track progress as you go along. Mark the calendar everyday you get up early or hit the gym. Receive reminders so you can never say “I forgot”. Get an instant picture of how you’ve been doing. Feel better!

I’ve got my ‘1,000 words/day’ down of course (only the CurrentBook wordcount counts here) but also 10,000 steps/day, 30 min/day reading, jala neti, filling & drinking the jug of water on my desk, pranayama, basic asanas… and NO playing Bejewelled till I’ve completed my day’s Rooteins!

I know–everything I read on forming new habits says start slowly, try to change one thing at a time. But while my priority right now is not getting deflected from the CB I believe that who I am comes from what I habitually do and I want to start right away ‘training’ my unthinking actions to fall inline with what I believe I can be. What exactly that is will, I hope, become more defined for me as I clear away more of the habits/automatic responses that I’ve picked up along the way like so much clutter.

Anyway my 15 min here is almost up. Word count so far is 23, 739 words.

Have to go in for a blood test this afternoon. Yes, I know last night’s orgy of wine, tiramisu & open source software talk that went on till 2am was NOT a good idea but if today’s & next week’s appointments go well in spite of this I might be able to push for another reduction in medication. As a reward (& because I could not get out of bed this morning) I’m going to evening class later.

Wordcount: 24,304 words and time for lunch!
Wordcount: 24,646 and I’m done for the day!!!

One Response

  1. Sounds like a good idea, Rootein, must check it out….

Leave a Reply

