Still Writing, Practicing, Living…

Made two more ‘startovers’ on the new novel but oddly enough it doesn’t feel discouraging… or that the previous 30,000 ++ words were a waste of time & energy. It feels like I got to know my lead characters better & they ‘told’ me in no uncertain terms what ought to be happening instead, so–

I did a ‘reading’ of the first chapter last night & got some very useful comments. At least I realise they’re useful now though at the time I had to chew down hard on myself not to tell people they’re not getting it, the style was not ‘choppy’ it was done for effect etc.

(note to self: Remember it’s no use criticising reader/listener responses–they’re already as qualified as they need to be to read. I’m the one trying to learn here)

Then I woke up knowing what I wanted to do with the chapter (after a very strange dream with Ivan telling me I wouldn’t be taken seriously as a writer if I didn’t ‘do’ my eyebrows)

Yes, it’s a branch off but I may actually get two books out of this so I’m happy.

2 medical check-ups say I’m healthy too, so things are going well.

I’ve been practicing fairly regularly–four or five times/week at least–nothing new there except I’m suddenly becoming very aware of my alignment. It feels like I’m getting what it means to be in downward dog for the first time, the abs in, the power through the finger tips.

I think it’s a combination of Jeanne’s “turn your thighs inwards then tuck your tail bone under” when she was trying to get us to stand in tadasana. Humbling to realise I haven’t been doing something so basic ‘right’ or rather, I have not been looking at the posture with enough respect. For me it was always the starting pose/the resting pose/time to grab the sweat towel pose. I need to remember to spread my toes and firm my thighs and practice keeping my alignment (crown of head over a level pelvis).

Then Peter (who’s gone back to Bangkok–sadly) with his “ridge” between shoulder blades (“in plank, press shoulders forward then back and rotate outwards, there should be a ridge on your back between your shoulder blades”)that should be flat on my back and yes–suddenly downward dog, not to mention standing up and sittting down suddenly make sense.

I’m far from managing to practice as I want to yet, but my eyes are opening and it feels like teachers and their gifts are appearing all around me so I must be ready…

And not just in practice–I met P’s sweet mum yesterday and she said “Why aren’t you going to Italy with the girls?” and I realised that I don’t have to make the excuse of work deadlines etc–I love them & I love Tuscany but right now I want to be here.

And just this morning the wonderful Constantine Cavafy “Ithaka” (during midmorning break reading) was inspiration/encouragement/reward/sheer sweet pleasure all at once, especially the ending:

Keep Ithaka always in your mind.
Arriving there is what you’re destined for.
But don’t hurry the journey at all.
Better if it lasts for years,
so you’re old by the time you reach the island,
wealthy with all you’ve gained on the way,
not expecting Ithaka to make you rich.

Ithaka gave you the marvelous journey.
Without her you wouldn’t have set out.
She has nothing left to give you now.

And if you find her poor, Ithaka won’t have fooled you.
Wise as you will have become, so full of experience,
you’ll have understood by then what these Ithakas mean.

One Response

  1. “Ithaka” was one of my earliest intro to Cavafy. That idea of the journey rather than the destination being the most important thing. I love it.

Leave a Reply

