Jan 10

Very very gentle stretches & very very very gentle twists…

Does this count as practice?

Took day off writing again though I’ve ‘recovered’ from the 3 days of deadline frenzy & spent morning with an old friend instead. We finally exchanged our Christmas gifts (it’s still January–we’re not doing so badly!) She gave me the loveliest painting–one she got here, brought over to Vietnam to be framed & carted back again… !

Part of me wants to jump right back into the next project. Looming on the horizon: 1 play (comm), 1 collection to be proofed (waiting for pub), student pieces to read (before Feb)

& for myself, I’ve been thinking about a monologue tentatively titled ‘Burning Memories of Mama on Mount Faber’ & a book tentatively titled ‘Falling From Clean Windows’ which I already have one rough draft of. But it’s been five/six months of pretty intense writing & rewriting so I may take the weekend to decide what to focus on next & not start till Monday…

I also desperately need a haircut, organic oats (there’s enough for breakfast tomorrow & then it’s granola or ryvita) & toothpaste (enough to last 2/3 days–but I have an ’emergency’ tube in my yoga bag so things are not all that dire). I will HAVE to go shopping tomorrow.

Why all this itemizing? I just woke up to how long it’s been since I left the apartment. Before this morning I hadn’t stepped out of the front door for three days! It’s almost too easy when laundry/organic veg/pet supplies all arrive at the doorstep. Everything around looks a little strange though familiar, like I’ve only just surfaced/woken up.

Life rhythms go ‘off’ when I’m not doing full daily practice either at home or in the studio!

Leave a Reply

