Missed Drift

Be warned: self-pitying spiel follows!

Drift was going to be the first show I watched at this year’s Arts Festival. Interesting inter-generational theme, plus it’s a collaboration between our local Drama Box & the Shanghai Dramatic Arts Centre (& I’m half Shanghainese so there’s a twinge of connection). Directed by our own Kok Heng Leun & written by China’s Nick Yu (see? Going by his name, another twinge of connection!)

I bought my ticket online & early, paid up $40. Got myself to Drama Centre & then to Fortune Centre for dinner at what’s now my favourite vegetarian eatery in town (casual setting. They have brown rice for their rice-&-things. You can sit & watch the smiling guy twirl, twist & pull handmade noodles coloured pale green, pink & purple–vegetable ramen–behind his glass screen while you eat)

And then found I was having trouble seeing & walking. Ridiculous, right? I was fine till I started back to the Library/Drama Centre, only about two blocks & 2 road crossings away. A short short walk, but I had to keep stopping to lean against walls/bollards/railings.
Luckily the Super Beaver was there & he drove me home–otherwise my little yellow car would probably have ended up with a wheel lock for overnighting in the car park. Beaver missed the show too but he was so sweet about it. ‘Being yogic’ was all he said when I felt so bad about his ticket price & time!

5 Responses

  1. Yes, I’m fine now, thanks! And I’m going to 3 Arts Fest shows this week… this time I’m not driving!!

  2. I’m so sorry. 😦 What a bummer. I hope you’re okay now.

  3. Thanks, Kirsten–me too! & yes to the friends comment. Good friends make all the difference. That’s also why you people here are special too.

  4. So glad you made it home ok!

  5. Sometimes I think it’s having friends like Super Beaver that makes life a little more bearable.

Leave a Reply

