Slowdown Sunday

Was back at FCC this morning for Jorg’s sermon on Psalm 13. He used real life stories of people today (gang raped refugee, earthquake victim, homosexual boy hanged on trumped up charges… ) and rewrote them as ‘psalms’ expressing the same despair & yearning as David’s.
This worked not only to point out how relevant the original psalm still is, but also that crying out in despair is natural & itself a way back to God.

How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look on me and answer, O LORD my God. Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death; my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,” and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me.

& he split each into 2 portions; the first ending at a point of despair & the second recognizing the presence & faithfulness of God.

His message was not only that there are ‘angels’ around us all the time (‘angels’ meaning other people) but it is our responsibility to be angels to others especially in difficult times.

Good points. & I was also impressed by the pieces he wrote.

The rest of the day I’ve been cropping plants, landscaping the turtle tank, cleaning the fishtank, watching tv (real crime stories on the excuse that I’m doing research for my writing!) & shuffling through playscripts for the book, reading & editing one (Wife and Mother) only to find out that wasn’t one of them I was going to include.
Surprised to find out it wasn’t too bad 🙂

I should/could have got a start on next week’s writing but I didn’t do anything. I’m hoping to stay at 5000 words a week & keep it up through all the book prep, though I’m still not sure what that will involve. And I should be reading more. Seeing (online) the quantity of books other people are getting through is starting to get very intimidating! Right now I’m reading Conversations With God Book Two, Zen Mind, Beginners Mind (because I remembered I had a copy when Alison B flashed it onblog & I dug it out) & The Woman In White because it’s still one of the best characterized mystery-suspense books ever.

Maybe watching CSI tonight will count towards writing… but I know, I know. The only way to get words down is to sit down and write them down.

Leave a Reply

