John Scott Workshop!

I just signed up for the John Scott Workshop 30 June to 2 July!!!

This is so great because the last time he was in Singapore (about one & a half years ago) I was having trouble walking & he let me sit in a corner & audit the sessions for free!

Self-practice with one or two mysore sessions a week is doing me good, I think.
Where I was previously I ‘needed’ the daily mysore sessions at Pure but then the hassle of 20 min drive there, 20 min back & parking & hyper-aggressive sales team started to outweigh the ‘pros’ of great teacher & great practice mates. Also I was focusing on the wrong things, I realise–being a ‘good girl’ for showing up on the mat/hoping to gain approval & new asanas/ rather than focusing on my breathing & practice.

Now I am reading my body better… & I do what I’m ready for. For an approval seeker like me it’s a big step.

(plus I can practice in my knickers & go straight into the shower after savasana & a snack!)

The Conversations With God book that Bian recommended has made me think too. What do I really want–not in the past or in the future but right now. It sounds impossible but two evenings before I had prayed–if it’s possible, just show me what to do in a way I can understand–now I’m just going with “I’ll take this as it is, without judgement & if it’s wrong for me I can count on God to set me right”

I may be wrong, but just as I realise how much stronger & focused in practice I have become since leaving Pure–(well, my membership expires in June but I haven’t been back since Anita’s last aggressive hard sell attack popped up in the middle of mysore practice!)–in the same way it may be time for me to move away from the comfort zone of ‘group’ worship.

Leave a Reply

