The Good & The Bad…

A good day today because…

I got in a good practice. Was focusing on my outward rotations in downward dog: arm creases forward/shoulders down/oh… is that how it feels when my lats engage? And without really trying to I found myself doing my first almost effortless float forward!!

I’ve managed to ‘jump through’ before, yes–when I’m focusing & ‘in’ the zone I can go with the breath & jump forward into position–but I realise now I’ve been using momentum & my arms rather than my back & shoulders because on this glide through today I actually felt like I was doing that smooth gravity-free hover act that those senior yoga people from another planet deliver!

No, I didn’t manage to repeat it–not today–but I finished practice with a big grin on my face– now I know what to aim for–& suddenly it’s possible that even ‘float backs’ may no longer be impossible!

Was also a good day because an online magazine that had been trying to decide which of my 2 submitted stories to accept just said they’re taking both!!!

And a good good day because someone called to say a play I wrote last year, Hitting (On) Women, has been nominated for Best Original Script at the Life! Theatre Awards!

I got two pages of my Easter script down–it’s slow, but I don’t want to just churn out stuff. I was going back through the gospels again & again & it’s very different reading them as ‘source’ material compared to divine guidance…

And the bad?

Found myself getting unnecessarily worked up at something I thought stupid. But coming from someone I considered promising/smart.

I don’t like myself getting upset about stuff–but then I don’t like closing my eyes to things either. It feels ‘wrong’.

Patanjali says we are guilty/responsible (vitarka himsadayah) in 3 ways (Yogasutra 34, 2):

1) Our actions

2) Causing others to act on our behalf

3) Our inaction in speaking up/stopping acts

We can easily keep our hands clean on 1) & 2) but how far do we go about 3)?

And I also feel I should be minding my own business instead–hard, when it seems so clear (to me in my pig headed busybody mode) that someone I care about is setting herself up to get hurt!

4 Responses

  1. Hi,
    I like the way you write ..Its really different and interesting … keep the momentum going ..I hope tis will really going to help me in future..
    brilliant. .

  2. Congratulations! You have much to celebrate today!

    On the bad: hmmm, what feels right to you? It is a fine line to walk when it comes to other people who might be doing wrong (you didn’t say what it was, so it’s hard to know how serious it is). Maybe praying for guidance would help.

  3. thank you sweetie!!!

    (still ‘floating’ happy–hope i get it again… still not sure where core is either but it happens–i believe now–the ‘float’ really happens!!!)

  4. Congratulations on your float forward. I’m still trying to “find” my own way into that. Teacher says activate the core. But I feel no core.

    And congratulations on your stories being accepted and the nominations.

Leave a Reply

