Moon Day, Rotating Shoulders & Living Among Meat Eaters

Moon Day today so I’m going easy on myself… will probably do an hour Yin later– &/or listen to a Richard Freeman lecture…

Yesterday’s practice: I re-read the earlier chapters of Yogeswar’s Textbook of Yoga before practice, to ‘ground’ myself. A lot I’ve forgotten from rushing to classes or to fit in 90 min… (‘For practising yoga, your dress should be sparing and suited to the climate and the season. Wear only minimum clothes which allow free movement‘ since switching practice to the luxury of a private space I’ve tried practicing in cotton knickers like the guys do in class and it feels good! Plus less laundry!!)

And I focused on my shoulder alignment–especially during my vinyasasas between poses. Even though I thought I reached a ‘plateau’ in normal daily practice where I wasn’t challenging/pushing myself hard enough (& not really trying to) because I was no longer sweating, yesterday I found myself trickling & dripping sweat by the time I reached the marichiasanas!

So it was not the poses but the vinyasasas I haven’t been giving myself sufficiently to… another case of looking too hard for minor destinations & ignoring the journey!

I still don’t feel I have ‘got’ my shoulder rotations right. But given I’ve been walking around mis-aligned all this time, any change is going to feel wrong, so I’ll wait & see…

Have also been trying to lie flat & observe balanced shoulder blades, gentle arch in spine etc…

Yes (sorry, this is a response to comment on prev posting) I love postpunkkitchen! And I just got a copy of Living Among Meat Eaters by Carol J Adams. It’s a really fun, practical read & opened my eyes to a lot of things–but most of all what an easy time we have here.

When Paula said it was easier living vegetarian/vegan in Singapore than it had been in America, I didn’t take her seriously. Big deal–you just decide you don’t want to eat meat, what’s the big deal, right?

It’s not a big deal here (okay it’s not a big deal for me because I have such lax standards–yes, yes I do eat fish. I know they are sentient beings, I do love my friends in my home tank, but my cats are old & need the calcium & omega-3 & my fish is fresh caught, not farm reared…)

Sorry about the guilt rant…

Anyway, I don’t run a ‘pure’ kitchen, definitely nowhere near the kind of brahmin standard where you have to run the whole gamut of cleansing rituals after saying the word ‘beef’…

But I do try to eat off a pure conscience.

And what I learned from Carol Adam’s book is that when you do this in (some parts of) America, people get very upset because they feel that you are attacking the heart of their meat eating culture. There are attempts to ‘fake’ vegetarian dishes (and they tell you after you’ve eaten it, like they’ve scored a big victory over you) or they engage you in big confrontations like calling you ‘unpatriotic’ if you don’t eat turkey at Thanksgiving and keep asking ‘What do you eat?’ and not listening to you when you answer with delicious sounding dishes & recipes because they really want to hear you say ‘cardboard’.

Singapore is very easy food wise because fresh veg/tofu is easily available all year if you are cooking.

If you are not cooking, because of the religions (aside from Christians who seem to ‘rise’ to eating more meat & dairy & sugar) ‘rising’ to vegetarian diets as they become more spiritual–at least the Hindus & Buddhists do–there is usually vegetarian food available at every food court.

eg. When you go to an Indian rice stall for example, don’t be put off if you see meat/chicken dishes on display. Likely, if you ask ‘vegetarian’? The server will tell you ‘top row’ and automatically only proffer vegetarian gravies after…

8 Responses

  1. Hi Jason, good to hear from you in Texas & do get in touch if you come out East!
    Thanks for the omega 3 & calcium pointer… now if only I can persuade my cats to go with that!

  2. Thanks for writing this. I live in Texas, in the middle of all-you-can-eat-animal-flesh land, where stabbing cows is considered an act of heroism and bravery on the parts of many. I have never been to Singapore, but now you’ve got me interested.

    As an aside, all of your omega 3’s and calcium can come from nuts, fruits and leafy greens. 🙂

  3. well done, brother

  4. That was so sweet & generous of your student & her family… but it feels different, doesn’t it, when you think about eating meat at festivals & special occasions compared to taking for granted that every meal must be anchored in meat?

  5. Your story about the chicken reminds me of how, a few years back, an ESL student of mine cooked beef for me. Her family had very little money and it was very generous of them to buy and serve the meat. I had to eat it! I admit, some of it I stuck in a napkin and brought home to throw away—I could only eat so much!

    I don’t know why people try to get you to eat stuff you don’t want to eat like that. I am lucky in that I haven’t come across that attitude in a long time.

  6. Hi Jo–yes, full moon day!

    & Hi Gartenfissche… I’ve been feeling weak & ‘heavy’ too. Someone said we’re getting/got a total eclipse here this morning about 4am to 7am so that might explain some of it I guess… or just starting the morning without sun salutations leaves us sluggish!

    like I said, I’m not vegetarian & would never never call you bad! last time I went to dinner with our sweet senior pastor’s wife she had specially done a chicken dish for me… & that was all there was to eat.

    I figured it was more important to eat the chicken. No, not because I was hungry / greedy but because the love & effort that sweet old lady put into preparing a meal for me far outweighed (at that meal anyway) other stuff.

    It’s totally different when someone tries to make me eat something I’m against as a challenge, like at big Chinese dinners, there’s always someone who tries to insist I try the sharksfin soup (as though one taste & you’ll be back on the slippery slope to live fin harvesting!) and that is something I am REALLY REALLY against!!!

  7. I was wondering why I have no energy since it is a full moon day. 😦

    I think it depends a lot on where you live in America. You did say “some parts,” which is true. Old timers often think vegetarianism is weird, but it is pretty well accepted in the urban centers. when I first started eating vegetarian over twenty years ago, it was a lot harder to find things to eat here!

    I am not a vegetarian these days, though, as I do eat fish and I will buy organic chicken and cook it on occasion (I know—bad, bad.)

  8. Today is a full moon day not a new moon day right ?

Leave a Reply

