Yoga in Chiang Mai

First day there was a moon day, but I wanted to get the flight out of my system so I practiced on my own anyway. I was still in the BP Hotel, & Irene & Jean were still asleep at 6am so I put my manduka on the balcony & did a primary series there. It was pretty good–though had to be careful because stretched out lengthwise I could put my palms & soles flat on opposite walls & sideways I could not stretch my arms out.

But there was an incredibly beautiful full moon and down below us was the pool. All around me it was dark… all right, the garage and kitchens were below us so it wasn’t silent but the sounds were not irritating, just evidence of human life processes going on.

Later the girls joined me for a hatha led class (Dana teaching, Guara assisting) and after that I was back to 6.30 mysore practice taught by William Holtby, assisted by Tippy. It’s always interesting what you pick up from different teachers–you may love your familiar ‘home’ teacher but after a while she may stop seeing the mistakes you always make (sorry Teacher!!!) just as you stop hearing what she always says (I will try harder!!!) But a new teacher observes your flaws from the start and starts from your basics. This time I learned about evening out my sit bone balance, my standing balance and my trikonasana (yes, I could feel all these flaws but had been trying to correct them all through determination!) and these things alone are worth the trip up!!

But I am looking forward to returning to home practice in my home shala!

Leave a Reply

